While producing content and content management via a WordPress blog are fun, and a great kick-start to your career, at-times it may lead to circumstances where you might want to part ways with it. Be it switching your job or taking a break from life. The blog below gives a detailed guide on how to delete WordPress account in the safest and convenient ways possible.
Deleting Your Account
According to WordPress’s policy, you cannot delete username accounts permanently, but can only shut them down. In other words, you can just hide them from the public but they still remain on the servers at the backend.
In order to close your WordPress.com account, go to Account Settings and select the option below:
It is important to know that once you take this step, you cannot recover your account back in any case. In addition, WordPress automatically deletes your hosted websites, blogs and their content.
Things you need to do before Deletion
Well, you can’t just delete it, right.
- Cancel Purchases
If you have a purchase plan or an upgrade associated with your website, you will need to terminate all active ones before you delete WordPress account. To do this, go to Manage Purchases option from your account (https://wordpress.com/me/purchases). If you need any assistance, you can also ask customer support.
- Check with other linked websites
Deleting your account directly deletes all your data that goes on other websites. For instance, Woo Commerce. Remember to delete or back up all your subscription data on Woo Commerce dashboard (https://woocommerce.com/my-dashboard/) to prevent any loss.
Are you having any second thoughts?
If you have a well-established and running website/blog on WordPress, you might have second thoughts before deleting your entire account. Since none of the changes can be reversed back, be certain before you take any decision. We suggest some other alternatives you might want to consider:
- Changing your username (https://en.support.wordpress.com/change-your-username/).
- Remove contents from one of your sites if you think it is not giving you positive feedback.
- Alternatively, you can also delete that particular site. (https://en.support.wordpress.com/delete-site/).
- Unsubscribe from WordPress notifications through email so it can stop bothering you while you are away. Click on the link and select ‘Block all subscription emails’. (http://wordpress.com/#!/following/subsettings/).
Still want to do it?
Since the username account is not deleted forever, here are a few things you can do to get rid of it completely:
- Change Email
Go to Edit Profile option on the My Account tab, delete all data except your username and email address. Add any other email address and change account email to that address. This removes your email id’s association with WordPress leaving behind just the username.
- Change Password
To make sure your account is completely unusable; generate a random password from this site (http://www.thebitmill.com/tools/password.html), and change the account’s password to it.
- Delete your Gravatar Profile
If your WordPress account is linked with Gravatar, you can delete that account too. Again, Gravatar accounts also don’t eradicate permanently, you can only remove all information (http://en.gravatar.com/profiles/edit/?noclose#about-you) and hide your profile from the general public.
What happens after you delete your account?
Once you are done closing your account, you will have the next 30 days to revert the changes. This is mainly for times when you have closed your account mistakenly or due to an error. Contact WordPress support immediately to help reopen your account. After that, all your sites and data are removed automatically.
Since usernames stay on the servers even after the accounts are closed, hence you cannot use the same username again anytime in future. On the other hand, your email can be used to open a new account but only after the 30 days are up.